The Two Lost in Cygnus

Binary star, Albireo. This image was taken by myself and my friend Rachel at the McDonald Observatory on the 36" telescope.
Binary star, Albireo. This image was taken by myself and my friend Rachel at the McDonald Observatory on the 36″ telescope; where my husband and I met. Click to see a larger image.

The Two Lost in Cygnus

My arms out to the empty distance
I didn’t know my back was turned to you.

All this time we circled unaware
reaching for the other, but turned

the wrong way we mourned–a hundred
thousand years of dizziness without

direction. One hope–to find warmth,
in the other’s light all the while

shining on each other’s back. Peripheral
vision failing to reveal anything

over the shoulder but self-recognition.
Until that moment, that blink in a second

of turning, finding, spinning on face-
to-face our light spilled in every direction.

Spin on–
one

1 Comment

  1. Nice poem Amee. Albireo is one of our favorites at our summer “Northstar Star Tours”. The color difference is so striking in the eyepiece. Nice that you mentioned “All this time we circled unaware reaching for the other, but turned”. Very nice indeed!

Leave a Reply

