The accident in the morning

This is a personal picture taken of the reflections of clouds in one of the windows on the 107" telescope at McDonald Observatory. This was taken on the day my husband proposed.
This is a personal picture taken of the reflections of clouds in one of the windows on the 107″ telescope at McDonald Observatory. This was taken on the day my husband proposed. The poem is fictional.

The accident in the morning

Countdown to seconds dying,
countdown to five then four.

I want to keep my promise.
If only I could say ‘I’m sorry.’

Countdown to the days left behind,
countdown to three then two.

I want our last kiss to stretch.
If only we’d finished that book.

Countdown to one.
I left a note on the mirror.

 
 
I want to send out a big Thank you! to everyone that has read and enjoyed my poetry throughout Global Astronomy Month. Hopefully, everyone has found a connection with one piece or another. It’s been a blast writing so much this past month, although I won’t lie at times I didn’t know if I would make it! Now I’ll get back to aiming for a poem a week (and hopefully more). Please let me know if you like anything and I’m always happy to hear from anyone. If you have any questions about my poetry or just want to talk about astronomy and/or poetry please feel free to email me at ameejhennig(at)gmail(dot)com.

Leave a Reply

